Manage meeting attendees in Adobe Connect
In the Attendees pod, everyone can quickly see who is logged in to a meeting. Hosts and presenters can monitor attendee names, roles, and statuses (such as Raised Hand or Agree). If configured, the active speakers are also displayed in real time, in a dedicated area in the Attendees pod.
Note:
Adobe Connect administrators can change pod, sharing, and other settings to adhere to standards for governance. These settings affect the layout of meeting rooms and what you can do in meeting rooms. For more information, see Working with compliance and control settings.
A host can change the role of any attendee in the Attendees pod, promoting, and demoting attendees as necessary.
Adobe Connect users who logged in with a password appear with their full names in the Attendees pod, because the names are registered in Adobe Connect Central. If an attendee logs in to a meeting as a guest, the name in the Attendees pod is the name the attendee enters at login. Within a role group (hosts, presenters, and participants), attendee names are organized alphabetically.
The Attendees pod displays the telephone number of the participants who dial in or dial out using a telephone. Meeting Hosts can mask the phone numbers of the participants to uphold their privacy. The option is available in the in-meeting preferences dialog, in the Attendee Pod section. The option is persistent for a meeting room.
Note:
The option for Hosts to mask the phone numbers is enabled only if cluster-wide masking is disabled.
By default, the display name of the attendees is displayed what is listed as First Name and Last Name.
As a meeting host, you can customize the display name of attendees in the Attendees pod. You can include custom information in display names, and sort attendees based on the customized display names.
Note:
You require administrator rights to modify custom fields. Modifying custom fields impacts the entire account.
Note:
As a host, you can demote yourself to a presenter or participant, revealing how attendees with other roles see the meeting room.
Hosts can change the rights of a participant to give them control over selected pods. This arrangement enhances a participant’s rights without promoting the participant to the presenter or host role.
By default, participant status is blank in the Attendees pod. However, participants can change their own status. When a participant selects a status, an icon appears to the right of the participant’s name. Participants can clear their status at any time during a meeting.
Attendee status |
Icon |
Icon (HTML Client) | Duration |
|---|---|---|---|
Raise Hand |
|
Remains displayed until attendee or host clears |
|
Agree |
|
Remains displayed until attendee or host clears |
|
Disagree |
|
Remains displayed until attendee or host clears |
|
Applaud |
|
10 seconds |
|
Laugh |
|
10 seconds |
|
Step Away |
|
Remains displayed until attendee clears |
|
Speak Louder |
|
10 seconds |
|
Speak Softer |
|
10 seconds |
|
Speed Up |
|
10 seconds |
|
Slow Down |
|
10 seconds |
When you select one of these statuses, the status icon is displayed in the Attendees pod for 10 seconds:
The Raise Hand, Agree and Disagree status icons remain visible until you or the host remove them manually. Attendees can remove the Step Away status icon themselves.
Note:
To quickly toggle the Raised Hand status, simply click the button to the left of the menu. (If you select the Raise Hand status and then select another status, the second status icon is displayed, but the Raised Hand remains in effect.)
There are several ways to join an Adobe Connect room using the Adobe Connect HTML application, Adobe Connect Mobile app, or the Flash-based standard interface.
- A browser icon
is displayed next to an individual's name when the participant joins using HTML client. - A mobile app icon
is displayed next to an individual's name when the participant joins via the mobile app on iOS or Android. - A flash icon
is displayed next to an individual's name when the participant joins via flash-based classic view.